European Capacity Building Initiative

About Us


A key limitation of the UN climate change negotiations is the lack of a level playing field between delegations, both North-South, and South-South. Another major obstacle lies in mutual misunderstanding and a lack of trust, particularly between industrialised and developing countries.

The European Capacity Building Initiative (ecbi) was launched in 2005 to overcome these limitations and obstacles through a number of capacity and trust building activities. The Initiative has four main workstreams:

Phase V (2022-25) Management

The day-to-day running of the Initiative is managed by the members of the Phase V Management Group:

  • ecbi Director: Benito Müller (OCP)
  • Head of FTP: Benito Müller (OCP);. Deputy: Pedro Moura-Costa (BVRio)
  • Head of TSP: Saleemul Huq (ICCCAD); Deputy: Mizan Khan (ICCCAD)
  • Head of LSU: Christoph Schwarte (LRI);. Deputy: Pascale Bird (LRI)
  • Head of POU: Leila Mead
  • POU Support: Leonie Gordon/Chris Spence

For strategic guidance, the Initiative has an Advisory Committee, consisting of a developing and a developed country co-chair, contacts from relevant negotiating groups, and co-opted members, among them former co-chairs as honorary members, all in their purely personal capacity:

  • Developing country co-chair: Kishan Kumarsingh (Trinidad and Tobago)
  • Developed country co-chair: Frode Neergaard (Denmark)
  • African Group of Negotiators (AGN): t.b.c.
  • Alliance of Small Island States (AOSIS): Carlos Fuller. (Belize)
  • Least Developed Countries (LDC) Group: t.b.c.
  • Environmental Integrity Group (EIG): Franz Perrez (Switzerland)
  • Independent Alliance of Latin America and the Caribbean (AILAC): Ana Patricia Villalobos Arrieta (Costa Rica)


  • ecbi Director (ex officio)
  • Marianne Karlsen (Norway), SBI Chair (personal capacity)
  • Tosi Mpanu-Mpanu (DRC), SBSTA Chair (personal capacity)

Honorary members (in alphabetical order):

  • Lennart Båge
  • Jan Cedergren
  • Pa Ousman Jarju
  • Bo Kjellen
  • Farrukh Iqbal Khan
  • Tosi Mpanu-Mpanu